Foot Cheese and Lemumbers, Thank You CA Farmers

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

   As we strolled around, a harsh reality followed me: it’s not okay to buy too much cheese. Cheese is my guilty pleasure. Some have cigarettes, some have shopping. My roommates on the ship used to get mad at me for all the cheese in our mini-fridge on the ship. Apparently not everyone likes the smell of fresh feet in an enclosed space. Anyway, in the end, I narrowed it down to some fresh cheese curds. The company (Spring hill cheese) is based in Petaluma, California. They have the most amazing herb-infused cheese, cream cheese and curds.
   While I was cheesing it up, my mother went crazy with the veggies. Is it just my mother or does every mom get carried away with this? She even bought something I’ve never seen: a lemon cucumber. Wtf? A lemon crossed with a cucumber? Sounds like a Mexican patent- I grew up with Pepinos y limon con chile, and combining cucumbers with lemon at the get go seems like someone decided they weren’t going to pay separate anymore. BRILLIANT idea! They crunch like cucumber and have a hint of lemon… It’s a revolution…
   This is what I love about California: it’s vast amount of markets. On any day, any place almost, I can get a “Lemumber”. Where in Korea have I ever seen a lemumber?
Pacific view mall farmers market
West parking lot
Wednesdays 9am-1pm
Fruits, veggies, eggs, cheese, sprouts, flowers, olive oil, more! Grower/farm-direct and mostly organic certified.
MORE INFO AND LOCATIONS IN VENTURA COUNTY, VISIT WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/VCCFM
Leave a Reply

