The Socalette at the Getty: Hangovers, children, and other 1st World Problems (Part1)

Standard

I think I found out why I gravitate towards things in culture considered avant-garde or non-conformist. My love for modern art, graffiti, dub step, and other “non-arts” can be summed up quite eloquently by Japanese surrealist Kansuke Yamamoto: “Artwork comes out of some disobedient spirit against ready-made things of society …” (1914-1987) This is a brilliant quote. In the art of life, sometimes disobedient spirit is necessary in order to get the most out of it.

   As the perpetual black sheep growing up, I’ve been the classic non-conformist. Not becoming a nurse like all my cousins, and not settling down as having kids right away like my sisters, or getting married the several times I’ve been engaged has set me apart. But has it hurt anyone? Today, my head spinned from all the wine, and my body felt like it went through a grinder. Never mind what my heart felt like. That part of my body was on hiatus. It was the perfect day for the Getty museum as a hangover cure.

Greasy hangover food, thank you Getty Restaurant

Greasy hangover food, thank you Getty Restaurant

    Walking around the grand marble buildings, the sun shone sharply, warmly. I treated myself to lunch there as I people-watched a little bit. Tons of families were there, reminding me it was Saturday.
    After eating, I ventured over to the West Hall. There’s a special photography exhibit going on where two Japanese photographers haveSome amazing Japanese Photography been curated side-by-side, contrasting  historical and political with surrealism and abstract themes, both spanning between 1920-1960. The photos were equally as powerful, challenging the Japanese norm at the time, either by accident or design. This is probably as close as the Getty would get to modern art, as it usually hosts classical art. In the middle of browsing, an ex-boyfriend, who is still a good friend of mine, randomly texted me: “Hey i dont know if ur busy, but i could use a drinking buddy tonight.” After telling him I had plans, he ignored my questions as to why he needed a drinking buddy. I hoped he was okay, but I was excited for my existing dinner plans.
      In the other wings, I revisited the permanent collections, French baroque art, World Religious art, and old-world sculptures. However, most of the day was spent outside.
    As I strolled outside, there was music in the air. In between the giant wings, there is a grassy area, with live music set up. Walking past the park, I noticed a HUGE parking lot, for strollers. Ughhh those things are so annoying. I used to joke around with past boyfriends: “If I ever have kids, they are coming out walking.”
    Near the newly renovated fountain, I took pictures, playing with the panoramic feature on my phone. Then my iphotographer came out. Shuffling past people in the vast flower garden, I took so many photos until I was forced to delete some old ones just to make space. Walking back up through the park, I paused at a bench. As a little boy with a Dodgers shirt and his father walked by, I could hear the little boy: “I loveeeee California. I looovveeee Caifornia.”
   Haha meeee too, Little boy, meeee too.

Toward the end of the day, I started getting more excited for my dinner plans. E had insisted on taking me somewhere in Los Angeles for a fun night, and my inner nerd just gets giddy about downtown.  It just felt a little stressful when the Thursday-night fire fighter started hitting me up, asking me to dinner… And then when my friend in the valley asked me to get pho with him… And then when my current ex tried contacting me saying he “misses me” and all that BS Im unfortunately used to… Oh how I’d love to be in 4 places at once if I could. First-world problems huh?
     My stress was distracted, however, as I passed by a man carrying his toddler daughter. Right as I passed, the man shrieked, “Ohhh honey, why didn’t you say something?!” I turned, in time to see her peeing on his entire right side of his body. WOWWWW. Yup, no kids for awhile. Another thing that caught my attention were two mothers talking about meeting up for play dates as they packed up their picnics after the music ended. One mom reached in her purse, pulled out a card, and handed it to the other, “Here is our information, call me and we can meet at a park…” I glanced quickly at the card as I walked by. It was a Play-date calling card. Seriously? You need business cards to advertise play-dates with your child now? By the time I have kids, I’m going to need a PR and advertising management group for my kids. Throw in a branding agent too- it’s socal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses »

  1. When the Getty opened many years ago I remember a front page NY Times Sunday Magazine article titled something like, “Is Los Angeles Good Enough for the Getty Museum?” A glaring example of typical NYC snobbery regarding SoCal. Yawn. I love the Getty, but perhaps never thought of it as a hangover cure (all those steps!) Wonderful post though! I love how you interwove thoughts about having children with your observations of them with their parents. Coincidentally, I am planning a visit to the museum tomorrow. Can’t wait!

    • Wow, that’s interesting to think that at one point, Los Angeles was not in the minds of people as being a cultural destination. Sure, it has its grundge side but it has always been a mecca for the arts as I know it. Just a sign of the times I suppose~ How was your museum trip?

Leave a Reply

