The Beauty of Los Angeles & The Beast of Singledom

Standard

The beauty about Los Angeles is that there’s a rich art side to the nightlife. This means tons of improv comedy clubs, night galleries, and clubbing at the Getty, and such.

   Earlier in the month, I had stumbled upon an improv comedy team in Hollywood, called Second City. A member of their group made an OKcupid dating profile out of curiosity, which led to 38 separate fake accounts, real interactions, and 1 BRILLIANT play, based on true experiences. Tickets were $10 and I HAD to see this. Just after I decided to go, the firefighter texted me asking about my Friday plans. I told him about this show, and we decided to go together, as we did meet on OKC. OH THE IRONY HAHA! I left my car in Reseda at his place, we took his car, and got to the show right as it was starting. For an hour, we laughed, related, and forgot how strange it is to find people online.
   After the show, we walked a few blocks through Hollywood, and ended up at The Roosevelt. There, we had cocktails at The Spare Room, a classic speakeasy and classic game room. It even has a vintage working bowling alley! When he spilled my initial drink on accident, I reassured him it was okay- I’m just as klutzy! “I think that’s kind of cute,” he said. Laughing, I asked, “why? Being a klutz isn’t awesome.” “Well it’s cute because you’re human.” Three rounds of jenga later, our bets caused him to have to eat mushrooms (when he lost), and caused me to let him kiss me (when I lost). I wasn’t too stoked about my loss but hey~ what can you do.
   Before taking me back to my car, we had margaritas and carne asada fries like fatties haha. The tequila made me giggle all the way back to the car, and relax about the thought of kissing him. Before I left his place, we hugged, and shared this truly awkward peck of a kiss. Obviously, our dynamic only screamed friendship. Oh well. He’s cool to hang with, but our kiss reminded me the stress of singledom.
2 responses »

  1. I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

    • Haha thank u Casey for ur reply and the tip on dating sites. However, I think I’m just going to keep it at one site and barely even one. Good luck on ur quest and I hope neither of us get around any creepers lol

Leave a Reply

